Spider Season

So I’m not sure what’s going on, or why this is happening.. but there’s no denying it. It’s spider season.

Image

 At first I thought this was just a local event. Weird stuff happens on any college campus. So when I started seeing these freakishly large, radioactive colored spiders hanging of basically every bush and tree, my gut reaction was that it was a bio-chem experiment gone wonky. Like, Spiderman type status. After all, I do live at UCSD. We are known for our science programs.

 Image

But much to my horror, this was not a localized invasion. I went home for the weekend to catch up with my parents. I was sitting at the kitchen table watching my dad doing some gardening outside when I saw it. The LONGEST single thread of spider web I’d ever seen. It stretched at least 50ft, from the top of the tallest tree in the back yard to our patio table.

 Image

I pointed this out to my dad, and he seemed just as shocked as me. Upon further questioning, I found out my dad had been seeing the same mutant spiders as me, scaling the trees and making webs in the windows. He had taken to shooting them down with a BB gun.

 Image

Yes. They’re that big.

 

So I did some research. I discovered that the spiders I was seeing were either orb-weaver spiders or garden spiders. Both are terrifying and gross. I also decided that I hate looking at pictures of spiders on the Internet.

 Image

Orb-weavers look like this.

 Image

Garden spiders look like this.

 Image

To me they both look like this.

 Image

I could never understand why Satan picked a snake to be his representation. I think spiders are much more satanic. At least snakes have 2 eyes.

Image 

As a result of all this curiosity provoked spider research, I have developed an intense paranoia of walking under or near any vegetation. I will cower into any passing stranger if I have to do so.

 Image

Strength in numbers right?

 

On the upside, all these creepy critters are right on time for Halloween. Who needs decorations when you have the real thing staring at you with 8 beady eyes through your bedroom window?

 Image

On the up UP side, it will be winter soon and the cold will kill off all the spiders. I hope.

 

If it doesn’t, I will start using my pepper spray for purposes other than defending myself against creepy, aggressive men.

 Image

They won’t even know what hit them.

2 thoughts on “Spider Season

  1. Ooooh, Gab, haven’t seen any giant, mutant orb spiders in my region but will definitely be on the lookout now. Though they may look scary, they do have their place in this “web of life”. xoxo

  2. Yep they are everywhere and I too am terrified of them!! Will go to great lengths to avoid and will kill whenever possible….sorry God. They say God doesn’t make mistakes, but I think spiders are about as close to a mistake as you can get! YUCK!!!

Leave a comment